187 MIN

Lieutenant Hermes Papauran, one of the best investigators of the Philippines, is in a deep moral crossroad. As a member of the police forces, he is a first-hand witness of the murderous anti-drug campaign that his institution is implementing with dedication. The atrocities are corroding Hermes physically and spiritually, causing him a severe skin disease resulting from anxiety and guilt. As he tries to heal, a dark past haunts him and has eventually come back for a reckoning.

Best Director – Special Jury Award, IFF of India, 2022

Cast & Crew
Producer(s): Bianca Balbuena, Bradley Liew, Jean-Christophe Simon, Joaquim Sapinho, Marta Alves
Director: Lav Diaz
Script: Lav Diaz
Director of Photography: Larry Manda
Production Designer: Lav Diaz
Sound:  Hugo Leitão, Emmanuel Croset, Xavier Thieulin
Edit: Lav Diaz
Cast: John Lloyd Cruz, Ronnie Lazaro, Shamaine Centenera-Buencamino
Production: Sine Olivia Pilipinas

Lav Diaz
Lav Diaz studied economics and then film at the Mowelfund Film Institute in Quezon. In 2001, he directed West Side Avenue, following it with Evolution of a Filipino Family (2004) and Heremias: Book One (2006). Death in the Land of Encantos (2007) and Melancholia (2008) both won awards at the Venice IFF, the first obtaining a special mention and the second the Premio Orizzonti. He then made Butterflies Have No Memories (2009), screened at Locarno the same year. In 2013, he directed Norte, the End of History screened at Cannes in the section Un Certain Regard. He received the Golden Leopard at the 2014 Locarno IFF for From What Is Before. At the 2016, Berlin IFF, his film A Lullaby to the Sorrowful Mystery was awarded the Silver Bear Alfred Bauer Prize.

The Criminal of Barrio Concepcion (1998), Burger Boys(1999), Naked under the Moon (1999), West Side Avenue (2001), Hesus, rebolusyunaryo (2002), Evolution of a Filipino Family (2004), Heremias: Book One (2006), Death in the Land of Encantos (2007), Melancholia (2008), Butterflies Have No Memories (2009), Century of Birthing (2011), Elegy to the Visitor from the Revolution (2011),Florentina Hubaldo, CTE(2013), Norte, the End of History (2013), From What Is Before (2014), Fragment (2015), A Lullaby to the Sorrowful Mystery(2016), The Woman Who Left (2016), The Day before the End (short, 2016), Season of the Devil (2018), The Halt (2019), Genus Pan (2020), When The Waves Are Gone (2022)․